Lifestyle · Study

Week One | The Sleep Experiment

Well, week one of the Happiness Sleep Experiment is well and truly over and it was a rather successful week and I feel like I have made some great progress so far.

Here’s an overall recap of the week, including wake up and sleep times, exercise for the day and personal notes about things that I may have struggled with or caused me to stray off track.

Monday – 17/3/14

AM: Woke up 6am | Gym session 6.30-7.30am

PM: Yoga class 6.30-7.45pm | In bed at 9.45pm | Asleep before 10.30pm

Tuesday – 18/3/14

AM: Woke up 6.45am

No exercise today as I was inundated with uni work to do and was just plain exhausted.

PM: In bed 11pm | Asleep between 11.30-11.45pm

Got into bed late because I was chatting with my parents about the day and had to do things before sleeping (packing bags etc.)

Wednesday – 19/3/14

AM: Woke up 5.50am | Gym session 6.30-7.30am

PM: Work 6-10.30pm | Didn’t get home from work until 11pm | Didn’t fall asleep until midnight or just after

This afternoon, an incident happened in one of my uni classes that caused me quite a lot of anxiety and stress, as I had to work almost immediately after, I was able to put my thoughts about it aside for my shift, but finishing work extremely late made the situation seems a lot more overwhelming. Therefore resulted in a late night.

Thursday – 20/3/14

AM: Woke up 9.50am | Didn’t get out of bed until 10.30am

Still feeling very low and crappy from the day before, but I had an 11am appointment

PM: Work 12-4.30pm | Physie 6.30pm-8.30pm | In bed by 11pm | Asleep before 11.30pm

Felt very low after work because I was still sitting on my emotions from yesterday as I hadn’t been able to debrief with anyone. Finally got to speak to my Mum around 6pm, and had a good cry.

Exercise was actually very de-stressing and I felt good afterwards.

Usual evening routine was very slow and I procrastinated on YouTube (old habit that I’m trying to kick)

Friday – 21/3/14

AM: Woke up 5.50am | Gym session 6.30-7.30am

PM: Home from work at 10.30pm | In bed by 11.10pm | Asleep around midnight

Saturday – 22/3/14

AM: Woke up 8am | Didn’t get out of bed until 9.30am

Didn’t go to the Body Balance class, as my legs were exhausted from the week and I wanted to relax before work.

PM: Worked from 6.30pm-10.30pm | Home at 11pm | In bed by 11.15pm

Sunday – 23/3/14

AM: Woke up 7.30am | Work 10am-4.30pm

PM: Work 6pm-9pm | In bed by 10.45pm | Asleep between 11.30pm – midnight

Reflections:

Overall, I feel as though it was a great first week. I felt motivated and worked hard at developing a night time routine to help me wind down at night. As I mentioned in my introductory post to this experiment, I knew my work in hospitality was going to be a challenge as I finish very late at night. However, I managed to be in bed and going to sleep before midnight each night of the week, which still may seem late to some people, but for me this is a huge step forward because my average bedtime before this experiment was 1am. I am still going to be working towards a 10.30pm (no later than 11pm) bedtime over the following four weeks though.

I did have an unfortunate event happen mid-week (as said above) which affected my mood a great deal. I felt extremely down and unmotivated on Wednesday night and for most of Thursday which also caused me to revert back to old habits of procrastinating on the internet and not going through my night time routine, which resulted a late night and a late morning.

Friday morning I was motivated again, as I was very excited to get to the gym for my 6.30am session which I had been enjoying all week! I have definitely surprised myself with the motivation I have (so far) managed to maintain in getting up really, really early in the morning to exercise.

In terms of my overall happiness, I feel as though I am unable to evaluate it at this time because it is still too early in the experiment. Judging by the way week two has begun, I can tell that weeks two and three may be a lot more challenging than this first week has been. But more about that in my week 2 recap post…

Thanks you for reading and if you have any comments or ideas or just want to say hi, I’d love to hear from you in the comment section below!

Hope you’re having a wonderful day!

Screen Shot 2014-02-22 at 5.11.54 PM

One thought on “Week One | The Sleep Experiment

Leave a Reply

