Study

Week Three | The Sleep Experiment

I’m going to keep this week’s reflection short and sweet, so let’s jump right into this week’s overview…

Monday 31/3/14

AM: Woke up 5.45am | Gym session 6.30am-7.30am

PM: Yoga 6.30pm-7.30pm | In bed by 10.45 | Asleep after midnight

Had a really crappy afternoon with family issues, slipped back into bad habit.

Tuesday 1/4/14

AM: Woke up 7.30am | Got out of bed just after 8am

PM: In bed at midnight | Asleep around 12.45am

Still doing uni work very late, due to procrastination earlier in the night

Wednesday 2/4/14

AM: Woke up 5.45am | Gym session 6.30am-7.30am

PM: (didn’t record and cannot remember)

Thursday 3/4/14

AM: Woke up 10.30am

PM: Got home 10.30pm from a night out with friends | Asleep by midnight

Fun night out, definitely worth the late night

Friday 4/4/14

AM: Woke up 8am | Didn’t go to the gym due to my alcohol consumption the night before… oops!

PM: Gym session 5pm-5.30pm | Yoga class 5.30pm-6.30pm | In bed by 10.30pm | Asleep after midnight

Struggled to fall asleep tonight, due to excitement/nerves about UNC class enrolments

Saturday 5/4/14

AM: Woke up 4.20am | back to sleep at 6am | woke up 8am | Work 9am-2pm

Had to enroll in UNC classes at 5am, due to the time different between here and America.

PM: Took a nap 5.15pm-5.45pm | Work 6.30pm-10.45pm | Home after 11pm | Asleep around 12.30pm

Sunday 6/4/14

AM: Woke up 8.30am

Got an extra hour of sleep last night due to the clocks turning back an hour for the end of daylight savings

PM: Work 12noon – 3.15pm | In bed around 10.30pm | Asleep around 11.30pm

 

Reflections:

At the end of week three I can say for certain that I have noticed its become much easier for me to wake up in the morning. I’m not struggling to wake up and get going for the day as much I did before beginning this experiment. Even on days when I don’t need to get out of bed to be somewhere, I am still getting up and starting my day earlier than I previously would have. This is because majority of nights, I’m getting to sleep before midnight and I feel as though my quality of sleep is much better, thanks to my increased exercise. I have also been eating better because of my increased exercise (don’t want to undo all my hard work), but I feel as though this has had a flow on effect to helping me sleep better at night because my body is being given the right nutrients through out the day.

I’m keeping it short this week as uni homework and assignments are beginning to pile up. But stay tuned for week four’s update as its going to be an extremely tough week!

Thanks for reading and I hope you are having a wonderful day!

Screen Shot 2014-02-22 at 5.11.54 PM

Leave a Reply

