Lifestyle

Change is in the air

Long time, no blog…

It been quite a few weeks since I have been back to this blog and I have a crazy university and work schedule to thank for that!

However, it has not been that long since I wrote my last blog post. I have been blogging as a part of my media and communications subject this semester and if you would like to have a read of some the ideas and issues I have been discussing, pop over to my university blog ‘Christiarne’s Thoughts‘.

I’m very excited to be back on my personal blog now, writing about anything and everything I love! So much change is occurring at the moment with my university semester drawing to a close, a new job that I am loving, progressing preparations for my student exchange to UNC Chapel Hill in the US of A, turning 21 years old (what? yes! photos to come) and some exciting new updates coming for my blog too! I will be sharing more about all of these things over the coming weeks, but what I am really excited to share is my new hair!

988896_10204140252726483_1013124180283497528_n

A couple of weeks ago I finally did what I have been wanting to do for quite a long time… I cut my hair. Now normally a haircut isn’t that big of a deal, sure everyone gets their hair cut every now and again, but this was a big chop! The before and after pictures are the only way to truly describe it.

DSC07524

Before – from the front

988484_10204140433731008_7086722649535132922_n

Before & After

But going from such long hair to short hair, is more than just a physical change. There is an emotional attachment you develop to something you spend so much of your time caring for and (for a girl anyway) your hair can become apart of your identity. That was certainly the case for me and I spent many months thinking about my decision before I was able to commit 100%.

Now I don’t want to get too deep and philosophical, because yes were are talking about hair and it will grow back. But I feel as though this haircut was a key step in my transition from being a teenage girl to a young woman. I like to refer to it as my ‘grown up hair cut’, which gives a more mature and responsible vibe to my everyday look. There were many logical reasons behind making the chop also, including the fact that I no longer have the time and/or willingness to look after so much blonde hair, its bloody hard work! And the fact that I rarely wore it out anymore, it was always in a pony tail or bun which seems like such a waste of long, pretty hair.

I have to say, that I am loving my new short hair! Much less work, much less time but still looks amazing and I wear it out ALL. THE. TIME! I’m so happy that I made the decision and went through with it, no regrets at all!

But thats only one of the huge changes happening at the moment! Stay tuned for more updates as well as some exciting things that are going to be crossed off my 101 in 1001 list very soon!

Let me know if you have cut your hair recently… How did it make you feel? Was it a tough decision to make?

Thank you so much for reading and I hope you are having a wonderful day!

Christiarne

 

Leave a Reply

