Lifestyle · Study · Travel

Suitcase packed & I’m ready to go! | America 2014

I can’t believe it’s finally here! The night before I leave for the biggest adventure of my life!

If you’re not sure what I’m talking about, have a read of this post back when the whole journey began. In short, this Aussie is headed to the United States dressed in Carolina Blue!

Words cannot describe the way I am currently feeling but they are the best I’ve got, so I’m going to try.

Calm. Prepared. Surreal.

They are the first three words that come to mind as I sit here writing.

Being completely honest, feeling calm isn’t something that I am used to. I’m a girl who runs on high emotions whether it is excitement, anxiety, stress or absolute panic, that swam of manic butterflies in the pit of your stomach is something I am very used to feeling more often than I care to admit. However, this time, this experience… it’s different. I have a serene feeling of calm that I’m not at all used to (but am most certainly enjoying). I feel relaxed and prepared and that’s really the only way I can describe it.

From past experiences, this would be the moment that I get anxious about not being anxious and try to figure out ‘what’s wrong with me’ starting the vicious cycle again (the mind is wonderful yet very weird, right?). But again, this time its different. I’m quite content with the calmness that I’m feeling. I don’t feel the need to overthink the situation and I’m quite happy to take things as they come. I attribute this back to feeling prepared. But not just in the sense that I have my documents ready to go and a packed bag… I feel mentally prepared. I trust myself. I’m confident that I’m strong enough to deal with and work through anything that is thrown at me, because ultimately it means that I will be fulfilling a dream!

I’m going to miss my family like nothing else! It’s a safe feeling knowing there are people who love you no matter what right there with you, and going to the other side of the world without them is scarier than anything! However, the moment comes when you have to step out of that comfort zone because that’s when you truly learn about yourself and what you are capable of.

Acknowledging the fact that living in a new country for six months is going to be challenging and that I am most certainly going to get home sick at some point is an imperative part of this journey and I have taken steps to ensure I can get through those tough times… I have to thank modern psychology and technology for that.

But enough of the deep discussion of the inner workings of my mind, I wanted to share my packing with you! However, I am having major technical issues with the photos and can’t seem to get them to upload (grr). Nevertheless, I assure you that my bags are packed and ready to go!

Bring on tomorrow and let the American adventures begin!

Christiarne

2 thoughts on “Suitcase packed & I’m ready to go! | America 2014

  1. Can’t wait to see the next part of your adventures 🙂 Can’t believe that you on the other side of the world ….How cool is that :0) xxxx

Leave a Reply

