Study · Travel

The Old Well | UNC Bucket List #6

The Old Well is the landmark of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, standing in the heart of campus.

For many years the Old Well served as the sole water supply for Old East and Old West dormitories and in 1897, the well was given its present decorative form at the direction of President Erwin A. Alderman, who described his beautification project as largely derived from the Temple of Love in the Garden of Versailles.

800px-Old_Well_1892

The Old Well in 1892

10406584_10205092680176574_8102966608490916711_n

I’m lucky enough to walk past the Old Well on my way to class multiple times a week and each time it brings me back into the present, reminding me of where I am, how amazing it is that I am hereย and to appreciate and enjoy every moment.

Following on from my last post about Tar Heelย traditions, I have another to share! UNC Bucket List item no. 6: Drinking from the Old Well on the first day of classes.

It is said that by drinking from the well on the very first day of classes, you will have good luck for the entire year (academically, of course). So every year, on the first day of classes, there is a long line UNC students waiting to take a sip in the hope of securing good grades. This year was no exception.

My roommate and I joined the line and we both took a drink from the Old Well. Granted the first day of classes was seven weeks ago, but I assure you we did it and so far I haven’t failed anything (touchwood).

IMG_4417

 

IMG_4401

IMG_4402

IMG_4403

I’ve gotten into the swing of writing regular posts over the last week, so hopefully I can keep it up! Although, I have two midterm exams and an essay coming up soon, so that may not happen…

Hopefully the luck I’ve gained from the Old Well will help me out there? ๐Ÿ™‚

Thanks for reading!

Screen Shot 2014-02-22 at 5.11.54 PM

One thought on “The Old Well | UNC Bucket List #6

Leave a Reply

