Travel

Washington DC | America 2014

Washington DC was a city I was excited to visit during my in America, but I certainly didn’t expect to love it as much as I did! Having spent the previous four months studying U.S. history and politics, the significance of this city was so present in mind that I couldn’t help but find myself in awe of my surroundings. IMG_6489 My first stop upon arriving was of course the White House to say ‘Hi’ to the Obama’s and take a look at the 2014 Christmas Tree.

IMG_6459
The White House Christmas Tree & the Washington Monument in the distance.
IMG_6452
Myself in front of the White House Christmas Tree, with the White House in the distance.

This year, the White House Christmas Tree was ‘Made with Code’. A Google initiative, which invited girls from all over the country to code the lights on all of the state and territory Christmas trees. It was such an excellent initiative encouraging and empowering young girls to learn a new skill and share their creativity.

IMG_6466
North Carolina Christmas Tree

I spent the next few days wandering around DC exploring the many monuments, memorials and landmarks the city offers. I couldn’t help but imagine what it would be like to live and work in Washington DC, constantly surrounded by reminders of incredible people that have done so much for country. Travel tip: You can go inside the Washington Monument and all the way to the top for FREE! The views are incredible & certainly worth it!

IMG_6493
Washington Monument
IMG_6429
Executive Office Building
IMG_6547
Lincoln Memorial

The most moving site I visited was Arlington Cemetery, the cemetery for all American’s whom have fought for their country.

IMG_6571
Arlington Cemetery
IMG_6564
JFK Memorial
IMG_6591
Tomb of the Unknown American Soldier

The most exciting site I visited was by far the U.S. Capitol. It wasn’t till I arrived that I found out you can actually take a tour inside and I am so glad I did. I learnt so much and saw locations I had only ever heard about. It’s an experience I will never forget and something I definitely recommend if you’re visiting Washington DC. You can also walk through to the Library of Congress which is one of the most stunning buildings I have ever explored.

IMG_6639
U.S. Capitol

And of course, a trip to Washington DC wouldn’t be complete without visiting Georgetown Cupcake. A cupcake bakery featured in the television series DC Cupcakes which my sister and I love! Georgetown itself was an awesome little place, very hip and cool with so many shops and cafes. I would have loved to have had brunch at a number of places I saw whilst wandering. But myΒ White Chocolate Peppermint & Chocolate Eggnog cupcakes were certainly satisfying! IMG_6700

IMG_6714
White Chocolate Peppermint & Chocolate Eggnog Cupcakes

Washington DC was inspiring and exciting and I definitely didn’t have enough time there. However, I look forward to going back one day to see some more of this incredible city.

IMG_6560
Lincoln Memorial

“We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness.” – Declaration of Independence, 1776.

Christiarne

///

All photos taken by me.

2 thoughts on “Washington DC | America 2014

Leave a Reply

