Travel

New York City 2014 | Breakfast at Tiffany’s

At the very top of my New York City list was to enjoy Breakfast at Tiffany’s on Fifth Avenue and browse the store windows with a hot coffee and pastry in hand, just like Audrey Hepburn did in 1961. So on our first morning in New York, Mum and I did just that!

Together, we strolled uptown along Fifth Avenue browsing in shop windows and taking in the sights and sounds of the city. Being from the South Coast of Australia, where you can still wear a t-shirt in the middle of winter sometimes, my mum and I were also trying to acclimatise to the coldest winter we have experienced. Anyone reading from the colder parts of the world, I admire your ability to endure such cold every year!

IMG_1262Gradually the crowds became dense and we were weaving in and out of couples and families. At this point I was reminded thatΒ it was nearly Christmas and we were on our way into one of the busiest parts of the city. The infamous Christmas window displays of Fifth Avenue! But more on that in another post.

IMG_6727

As we neared Tiffany & Co. we needed to pick up some breakfast treats and what better time than to take Mum for her first Starbucks experience! We were so cold as this point, that we stopped at the Trump Tower to defrost and visited the Starbucks inside. From here, it was straight for Tiffany’s to enjoy breakfast and do some shopping!

BREAKFAST AT TIFFANY'S, Audrey Hepburn, 1961
BREAKFAST AT TIFFANY’S, Audrey Hepburn, 1961
IMG_6751
BREAKFAST AT TIFFANY’S, Christiarne, 2014

I’ve never been so excited to fulfil a dream! Mum and I spent an hour wandering around the store, admiring the jewels and making a couple of sneaky purchases. Not as many as in this taxi, although a girl can dream. But that wasn’t all of the shopping that was done…

IMG_6765

When in New York lots and lots of shopping for is a must! With that in mind, Mum and I headed to Bloomingdales, Barney’s, Henri Bendel and my favourite Kate Spade! I’ll have to do an updated ‘What’s in my Bag’ post and share with you the exciting purchase I made at Kate Spade.

IMG_6779

IMG_6794

Kate Spade
Kate Spade

IMG_1278

IMG_6858

Most the big spending was taken care of in the first day or two of our time in New York. This left the rest of our trip for sightseeing and exploring without lugging shopping bags around with us. As well as the chance to enjoy our goodies over the coming two weeks.

IMG_6764

IMG_6761

Breakfast at Tiffany’s and shopping on Fifth Avenue was so wonderful and there’s nothing better then spending the day shopping withΒ my mum, my best friend!

Have you re-enacted a scene from your favourite movie before? I hope you enjoyed reading about my experience! Maybe you too will enjoy Breakfast at Tiffany’s one day? I highly recommend it!

christiarne

///

All photos by my mum and myself.

Leave a Reply

