Travel

Eighteen Hours in South Korea | 2015

I am officially on my way to the United Kingdom to study at the Oxford History, Politics and Society Summer School this July! I’m so excited for this journey and experience and of course I’ll be blogging about it all too.

Australian’s will commiserate as its a long, long journey to the UK, which is quite literally on the other side of the world. Thankfully though, the 24 hours of flying has been broken up by an eighteen hour layover in South Korea and a shower and full nights sleep in a bed was an exciting prospect. However, Korean Airlines has truly gone above and beyond my expectations!

IMG_1986

Not only was the service provided by the airline amazing, but we received transfers, a nights accommodation in the stunning Central Park Hotel in Songdo, as well as dinner and breakfast all included in the cost of the airfare! Your jaw just dropped didn’t it? Wait until you see the photos of my room below!

I honestly couldn’t think of a better way to make such a long journey.

IMG_1969

IMG_1972

IMG_1973

After dinner, Amy and I wandered around the business district of Songdo admiring the culture that surrounded us. I loved the contrast of beautiful traditional Korean buildings with the modern skyscrapers in the distance.

The way the city is designed is truly amazing. Nothing like a regular city that has crowded narrow streets, dirty sidewalks and rundown shop fronts. In Songdo, everything is big, spacious, modern, and at one with nature. There is greenery incorporated into the design of spaces as well as sculptures and fountains making each space interesting and beautiful to look at.

IMG_1993

IMG_1989

IMG_2004

IMG_2012

IMG_2009

We got a little adventurous while exploring the different eateries, and tried what we thought was supposed to be a Cookies and Cream Milk Snow. I haven’t tasted anything like it before and I honestly can’t tell how I felt about it. I didn’t dislike it, but because I was challenged by the flavours I also didn’t love it. However, I am very proud of us for giving something new and different a try!

IMG_2013

Unfortunately, the flight home layover is only a few hours so I won’t get to revisit Songdo. However, the facilities here at Incheon Airport are so incredible, so I’ll be able to shower, have a massage, even a nap while I wait for my connecting flight. I highly recommend flying Korean Air if you’re traveling to Europe from Australia and I will certainly be back to see more of South Korea in the near future!

IMG_1990

Have you traveled to South Korea before? Let me know in the comments where I should visit the next time I’m here. Thanks for reading!

christiarne

///

All photos by me.

This post is not sponsored. All opinions are my own.

Leave a Reply

