Lifestyle · Travel

Get To Know A Twenty Something Girl | Travel Q & A

Well its been a whole month since my British adventure came to an end and upon arriving home, as per tradition, I got the flu! Is this something that happens for anyone else when they travel? I have a friend who seems to get sick whilst on holidays, I myself always get sick the moment I return from a holiday or traveling. Coming down from the adrenaline high of traveling and going back to ‘real life’ must just be too much for my body and immune system to handle.

Aside from illness, this last month has been heavily focused on my new university semester and getting back into a daily routine, because that’s the way I roll when I’m home!

The other exciting thing that happened included my blog being nominated for a Liebster Award by the lovely Samantha Faloon from That Samantha Girl! I wasn’t aware of this before being nominated but it’s an amazing initiative to engage in the blogging community and get to know new bloggers!

liebster-award

In being nominated, Samantha has asked me the following travel related questions. So if you want to get to know a little more about me and why I love travel keep reading below!

1) What is your dream city to live in? Why?

New York City! You can experience so much of the world in just this city alone and that’s something I find very exciting. Each burrow and neighbourhood has such a unique character and culture that I honestly would never get bored exploring. Oh and did I mention food..? Need I say more!

2) Cost of trips aside, how often would you want to travel if your job allowed it?

I’m a big believer in enjoying the journey leading up to the big travel adventure. I find a great deal of value in planning, preparing and anticipation of a trip so I wouldn’t want to be traveling so often that I no longer experience this. Also, I love my friends and family so coming back to my home base is important. In saying that, I’d love to be able to take 2 or 3 trips a year depending on the length of those trips.

3) What is your favourite travel App?

I actually don’t have any travel apps on my phone, so I’m going to say Instagram! Because documenting and sharing my adventures through pretty photos is so much fun!

4) What’s the scariest travel experience you’ve had?

I was in San Francisco at a Piano Bar with quite are few people on the same tour as me and a group of girls (about 6 of us) decided it was time to head back to the hotel. It was pretty late by this point, and in hindsight the street we had to walk down wasn’t the safest and taking a taxi would have been a far better decision. But we thought safety in numbers and just decided to walk because it really wasn’t that far. As we were walking along the this main road I saw so many dodgy things happening that I’m not going to even mention. And at one point a man step out in front of the group of us and starting counting us off saying ‘ennie, menee, minee, mo’. We all freaked out and ran so far down the street to get away from him. It was definitely the scariest situation I’ve been in so far!

5) Would you rather stay somewhere luxurious for a couple of days or go backpacking in hostels for a couple weeks?

Both! It depends on where I am going and what the purpose of the trip is. If I’m in exploring traveller mode, and truly want to experience the people and culture of a place for a longer period of time, I’d definitely opt to going backpacking. But I’ll never say no to a short lux holiday for a relaxing weekend away.

6) Best meal you’ve eaten abroad?/Best city for food?

I haven’t travelled that widely yet, so I don’t have a huge scope to work with. However the best city for food would definitely be New York City, because you can literally find any cuisine, any type of food and it will be amazing!

In saying that, the best meal I’ve eaten abroad was actually on a cruise ship called Pride of America. It’s a Norwegian Cruise Liner that sails around the Hawaiian Islands and aboard there was an Asian fusion restaurant called East Meets West which was so good I had to go back a second time before the cruise finished.

7) Where would your dream honeymoon be?

Probably somewhere tropical, relaxing and luxurious where I can lay on a beach most of the day and just enjoy the company of my significant other.

Hawaii 🌴🌺 #bigisland #coastline

A post shared by Christiarne (@christiarnecc) on

8) Do you prefer travelling in organised groups, solo, with friends, with family, or with a significant other? Why? 

I’ve done a little bit of all these options, and I enjoy them all! However, I do love traveling solo and escaping into a place and getting caught up in my surroundings.

9) If you had to visit one foreign country or city every year, what would it be?

At this point in my life, I would have to say the USA. I have made so many wonderful friends in America during in the time I was there and I’d love to be able to visit them all regularly!

💙 #tarheel #family

A post shared by Christiarne (@christiarnecc) on

10) What inspired you to become a blogger?

I have been an avid blog reader for years! And I have also been writing an academic blog as a part of my university degree. I originally began blogging to keep a diary of my first travel adventure and share it with my family and friends at home. Since then my personal blog has been a place just for me to write about what I feel like sharing.

Now you know a little more about me! Hope you enjoyed reading, if you have any other questions feel free to ask in the comments. I love hearing from you 🙂

christiarne

///

All photos by me via my Instagram.

This post is not sponsored. All opinions are my own.

Leave a Reply

