Interests · Lifestyle

Five Things I’ve Learnt | Going Without Things I Love!

Seven days ago I embarked on a challenge to go without some of the things I love, for the love of our future on this planet! Those people in my life know that climate change is an issue I feel extremely passionate about, and doing something about the climate crisis even more so.

All of these beautiful places and people you can see in the video above are why we need act on climate change. In Australia especially, one of the sunniest and windiest countries in the world, we have so much renewable energy potential that we are yet to truly embrace, which is why young people will be campaigning this year for policies that reduce pollution and supercharge the transition to 100% renewable energy.

As a part of the Australian Youth Climate Coalition‘s ‘For The Love Of Our Future‘ campaign I have taken up the challenge and have been going without coffee, sweets and plastic for the last week and have another week to go! Coffee, sweets and plastic are all apart of my daily life so giving them up was certainly going to be a challenge, but for a great cause it has been definitely worth it!

After reflecting on the last week myself, I wanted to share with you five things I have learnt whilst going without some of the things I love – by love I also mean ‘find convenient’ because I don’t love plastic. Its just a convenience I’m willing to give up most likely for good!

1: You always want something more when you absolutely cannot have it!

I try to live by the “everything in moderation” mantra so that I never feeling like I’m depriving myself and am far less likely to over indulge (in sweets especially). But as soon as you cut something out completely, the more you want it simply because you know you cannot have it.

2: You can make it through the day without coffee!

That caffeine addiction you’ve formed over the years? Starting when you just needed a pick me up coffee, slowly but surely turning into a I don’t actually need a coffee but I’m going to have it anyway, eventually into a full blown addiction. Well for those of you trying to break the addiction, I’m here to tell you it’s hard but it can be done if you have the will power (or are trying to save the planet).

Screen Shot 2016-04-17 at 8.58.53 PM

3: Plastic is basically impossible to avoid and I hate it!

Plastic has literally become my worst nightmare. I don’t think I fully thought through what giving up single use plastic meant when I agreed to it because after one week this has been by far the most challenging of the three things. Of course there are the obvious things which I already avoid like shopping bags, water bottles, glad wrap etc. However, if you’re not completely prepared, you will get caught of guard! I forgot to bring my lunch to work one day and I could not purchase a single thing that did not come in some form of plastic. Because of this I have donated $15 of my own money, because I have to admit that I failed. But I’m determined to make next week better!

4: I am blessed with an incredible support network around me

One week into this challenge and I am still blown away that on day two I woke up to see that my fundraising goal had been not only reached, but surpassed! I feel so much love and support around me during this challenge that it makes me even more determined to push through! So thank you to every single person who has donated not just to me, but to the campaign!

5: The determination and will power of young people is inspiring!

We are the first generation on this planet who will feel the affects of climate change and we are also the last generation who can do anything about it. The leadership that every AYCC and Seed member, volunteer or supporter is providing to their community on this global issue is inspiring. In the face of such an overwhelming crisis, the way young people come together and fight gives me hope that we can do something to save our planet despite the politicians and corporate giants doing their best to prevent progress.

So here’s to the first week of going without things I love for our planet, now onto the second week! If you’d like to know more about the Australian Youth Climate Coalition, the For The Love Of Campaign, where the we are raising money goes or how you can get involved too, click on the links or leave me a comment below!

Screen Shot 2016-04-17 at 8.38.53 PM

Read about my experiences at the Sydney People’s Climate March 2015 here!

Leave a Reply

